Sunday 25th December 2016

MR DALE’S CHRISTMAS MESSAGE

Serfs:

Christmas. A time for reflection and a focus of hope for the future. It remains a time when I try to put aside the anxieties of the moment and remember that I was born to bring peace and tolerance to a troubled world. Each year that passes seems to have its own character. Some leave us with a feeling of satisfaction, others are best forgotten. 2016 was a difficult year for many, in particular those facing the continuing effects of the economic downturn. I look back fondly on these past twelve months, marked in particular for me by the very generous response to my expenses claims. I especially value the opportunities I have had to meet young ladies. I am impressed by their energy and vitality. At this time of year, few sights evoke more feelings of cheer and goodwill than an expenses cheque and pictures of the latest Ms Dale and ME in the papers.

I put a tree up this time of year, just like you serfs do. The custom of topping a tree goes back to Prince Albert’s time. For his family’s tree, he chose an angel, helping to remind us that the focus of the Christmas story is on one particular family. My tree is topped with an image of ME, to remind you that I am top of the tree round here and that my modern family needs extra expenses.

Like everyone else, I learn about what is going on in the world from the media, and I try to publicise myself as much as possible so you can see ME. I am fortunate to have another source of information. Every day hundreds of letters come to my desk, and I make a point of reading as many of them as I possibly can if they have cheques in. They are a pleasure to read. There are also sad ones from irritating serfs who want help. There are silly ones from people who want to tell me what they think about current issues, or who have suggestions to make about changing the way things are done. Others are full of frank advice for me and my family and some of them do not hesitate to be critical. As a conscientious person, I recycle each and every one of them.

Christians are taught to love their neighbours, having compassion and concern, and being ready to undertake charity and voluntary work to ease the burden of deprivation and disadvantage. We may ourselves be confronted by a bewildering array of difficulties and challenges, but you must never cease to work for a better future for ME.

I wish ME a very happy Christmas.

mr-dale-on-xmas-tree

Leave a comment